How to Remove Yourself from a Facebook Group

A reader asks:

How do I remove myself from a Facebook Group?

I just removed myself from several groups, so this one is fresh in my mind.

  1. First, log in to your personal Facebook account click your Home tab.
  2. In the lefthand sidebar click “Groups.” (If you don’t see the “Groups” tab, click the “More” link and it will display hidden tabs.
  3. A list of all your groups will display in the middle of your screen.
  4. Hover over the group you want to leave and a little x will appear to the right of the group.
  5. Click the x. Facebook will prompt you, “Are you sure you want to remove your membership from ___ group?”
  6. Click “Remove.” (Or click “Cancel” if you have second thoughts and really don’t want to remove yourself from the group.)

Once you remove yourself from a group, that group and postings by its members will no longer show up on your personal profile page.

How to Shut Down a Group You Created

If you are the administrator of a group and you want to delete the entire group, you first have to remove all the members by going through the “click the x” process above.

If other people also administer your group, remove them also.

Remove yourself (the group admin) LAST. The reason you must remove yourself last is that if you remove yourself and other people are still members of the group, Facebook will ask them if they want to administer the group.

But since you’re deleting your group altogether, you’ll want to remove everybody, then yourself.

Once the last person (you) has been removed from the group, the group will disappear forever into Facebook heaven.

email
This entry was posted in Facebook. Bookmark the permalink.
  • mama h.

    if you remove yourself from a group (your a member, not admin) do your past postings go too?
    if admin removes you do your postings stay?

  • http://bloggingbistro.com/ Laura Christianson

    That is a very good question, and I’m not certain of the answer. I have heard that your postings to a group remain live unless you delete them (before leaving the group) or unless the group’s admin deletes them.

  • jessie

    thank you.  believe it or not, i looked at 3 or 4 links from google before i hit on this, and this was the accurate one!  thanks!

  • http://bloggingbistro.com/ Laura Christianson

    I’m glad you found it helpful, Jessie. Whenever possible, I “do” the tutorials myself as I’m writing them to ensure accuracy. However, Facebook changes their functions so often that it’s hard for bloggers to keep up.

  • Emma

    Do you know how to remove yourself from a list? That would be super helpful <3

  • http://bloggingbistro.com/ Laura Christianson

    What kind of a list are you referring to, Emma? If it’s a legit mailing list, there will be a one-click unsubscribe link at the bottom of every email.

  • Emma

    While working at McDonald’s I was added to a list of people on my friends’ list and all that who also worked there… I have removed it from my work history and left the group that one of my coworkers set up but on the left side of my page it still has the page listed as one of my pages (it’s basically a collection of statuses that friends who worked there posted). My work experience there was less than great so I would love to erase any possible memories or traces of being there.

  • http://bloggingbistro.com/ Laura Christianson

    In the sidebar, is your name showing up as being on a LIST or in a GROUP? Facebook lists both separately. If it’s a list that you created, you can delete the list.

  • S3

    Will they notice if I remove myself from the group?

  • http://bloggingbistro.com/ Laura Christianson

    I’m not sure. Here’s the info FB provides about leaving a group: Leaving a group removes you from the group’s member list and also removes the group from your list of groups. You will no longer get group notifications or see group stories in your News Feed. https://www.facebook.com/help/groups/basics

  • Fstab

    How to Remove Yourself from ALL Facebook Groups easily – Video tutorial

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xyf3tTHN3mc

  • Blee

    I removed myself from a group but now I want to get back on. the administrator is trying to add me back but it’s saying ‘You can’t re add someone who’s deleted themselves w/out them requesting to be added back. Where do I go for that? I can’t find it anywhere.

  • http://bloggingbistro.com/ Laura Christianson

    I’m sorry; I’m not up on Facebook Groups. I suggest trying Facebook’s Help desk.

  • Mars

    Would other members see a notification if you leave? cause I want to leave discreetly 

  • http://bloggingbistro.com/ Laura Christianson

    I’m not sure. I’m guessing the group’s admin might figure it out, as he/she has access to all the group’s members. But others may not notice if you just leave quietly.

  • prabhu

    thank you dude……..

  • mithril1971

    How do I get rid of a group in my lists when it says I am not a member? It just showed up there, and I want it gone.

  • http://bloggingbistro.com/ Laura Christianson

    Christine — Need clarification from you. Are you saying that you have lists set up, and the group for which you are not a member is showing up in your Lists?